Recent History

Bellingham Golf Club was founded in 1893 and was extended to 18 holes in 1996. The new 9 holes were designed by Ian Wilson, the Secretary at the time. Ian also captained the club during its Centenary year of 1993 and was Club Champion at Bellingham 13 times, as well as former Champion at Backworth and Hexham.

The Ladies captain for the Centenary year was Miss A.K Dunlop, with Mrs G Macdonald holding the captaincy in 1996 for the opening of the new 18 holes.  

The new 18 hole course was officially opened by the President of the Northumberland Golf Union, Barry Rodger, alongside course designer & secretary Ian Wilson, Club Captain Lenny Batey and project manager Bill Curry. The entire project was made possible by grants received from The National Lottery Sports Fund, European Regional Development Fund, Tynedale Council, The R & A and also the tireless work of everyone involved at the time.

Bellingham has played host to many great golfers over the years with Ian Wilson, David Curry (British Amateur Champion 1986) and George Cowan (Northumberland County Champion 2006).

Will Robson is the best of the current crop having recently returned from a scholarship in America, where he was ranked as No1 in the University of Kansas-Missouri team, helping them win their first ever conference - The Summit League in 2011.

The current course record was set by Ryan Hyland, 16 years old at the time, with a fantastic 63 scored in the 2006 Ford Trophy.